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In the event of a driver education school closure, a Education and Examination Division 
representative will be assigned to the school closure case. The Division’s first priority is to 
determine if the closed school has completed or will complete ALL training for any active 
students. 

 
 Student Transfers  

If the closing school owner CANNOT or WILL NOT complete the required training for ALL 

ACTIVE / UNFINISHED students, or arrange a transfer of credit hours, Division staff  will 

visit the school, meet with the school owner/director, and collect all student records and 

information. 

 
 Records  

Collected records include STUDENT CONTRACTS, INDIVIDUAL STUDENT RECORDS 

(CLASSROOM AND IN-CAR), PAID RECEIPTS, and a STATEMENT SIGNED BY THE SCHOOL 

OWNER that the school was voluntarily closed. 
 
 

 Contacting The Parents  

Once the Student Records are processed, each parent will receive a letter from the 

Department providing credit hour transfer information and requests for proof of payment, 

as applicable. 

 
 Refunds  

School owners are required by state law to maintain a surety bond to operate in Texas. 

This amount is $10,000 for a primary school and $5,000 for each branch school. 
 

After student records are processed and proof of payment determined, the Department 

will contact the appropriate insurance company and file a claim on the surety bond. The 

entire process may take up to six months to complete. 
 

Refunds are determined by (a) Number of Active/Unfinished Students, (b) Number of 

Hours Completed (Classroom, Behind-The-Wheel, Observation), (c) Available Paid 

Receipts, and (d) Available Surety Bond amount. Refund amounts are dependent upon 

these factors and there is no guarantee of a full reimbursement of tuition cost per 

instructional hour initially paid under the original contract with the school. 
 

If you have questions concerning a closed driver education school, you may contact the 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation at 512-463-6599 or 800-803-9202.    
Comments may be submitted to   CS.Driver.Education.Safety@tdlr.texas.gov. 
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